V.—PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION IN CANADA.

I.—DOMINION PARLIAMENT.

The Dominion Parliament is composed of the King, represented by the Governor-General, the Senate and the House of Commons. The Governor-General is appointed by the King in Council. Members of the Senate are appointed for life by the Governor-General in Council and members of the House of Commons are elected by the people. As a result of the working out of the democratic principle, the part played by the King's representative and the Upper Chamber of Parliament in the country's legislation has been, in Canada as in the mother country, a steadily decreasing one, the chief responsibilities involved in legislation being assumed by the House of Commons.

The Governor-General of Canada.—The Governor-General is appointed by the King as his representative in Canada, usually for a term of five years, with a salary fixed at £10,000 sterling per annum and forming a charge against the consolidated revenue of the country. The Governor-General is bound by the terms of his commission and can only exercise such authority as is expressly entrusted to him. He acts under the advice of his Ministry, which is responsible to Parliament, and, as the acting head of the executive, summons, prorogues and dissolves Parliament and assents to or reserves bills. In the discharge of these and other executive duties, he acts entirely by and with the advice of his Ministry (the Governor-General in Council). In matters of Imperial interest affecting Canada, he consults with his Ministers and submits their views to the British government. The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor-General's own judgment and responsibility, is now exercised pursuant to the advice of the Ministry.

A list of the Governors-General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

1.—Governors-General of Canada, 1867-1923.

Name.	Date of appointment.		Date of assumption of office.	
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G. Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G. Lord Stanley of Preston, G.C.B. The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl Grey, G.C.M.G. The Earl Grey, G.C.M.G. Field-Marshal H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G. The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. General the Lord Bing of Vimy, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O.	Oct. 5, Aug. 18, May 1, May 22, July 30,	1867 1868 1872 1878 1883 1893 1898 1904 1911 1916 1921	Feb. 2, June 25, Nov. 25, Oct. 23, June 11, Sept. 18, Nov. 12, Dec. 10, Oct. 13, Nov. 11,	1867 1869 1872 1878 1883 1888 1893 1898 1904 1911 1916 1921

The Ministry—A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of